Shu Lea Cheang & STWST
MAKE BREAD. EAT PICKLE.
Kitchen Social Act
Maindeck / Sat, 16:00 - 18:00 + Sun, 16:00 - 18:00


MAKE BREAD. EAT PICKLE., a Kitchen Social Act with hyper informed dough and ever fermenting pickles, is conceived to make and eat food together while engaging in conversations on thinking strategies for food production and distribution.



As we emerge from the State imposed confinement with virus among us, we are left with no “normal” to get back to and no “new normal” to step into. During the confinement period #quarantinebaking is trending and local small farms rise to the occasion dispatching seeds and organizing food trucks. From farm to table, we need to review and redesign the global food supply and distribution systems.
MAKE BREAD is an act of “cultural manipulation” - make a giant sourdough starter and bake breads by inviting people to bring their own home grown starters to mix in. EAT PICKLE sources fresh vegetables from local farms for fermentation and preserving.
The pickled vegetables are reserves for the future as we speculate on hard times and happy hours. Set up by the Donau river bank in open air setting, we gather the Linz’ citizens and visitors to make and share the freshly baked loaves of sourdough breads and seasonal pickles through the 48 hours of STWST48x6.
Let the dialogues begin …Long live the Mother Yeast. Pickle the Future.

MAKE BREAD. EAT PICKLE. Kitchen Social Act.
OPEN CALL: Bring your yeast starters for the making of hyper informed dough + bring your cherished pickel jars to share!



Connection zu Hyper Informed Dough.


Shu Lea Cheang (USA) is an artist-filmmaker-networker whose work aims to re-envision genders, genres, and operating structures. As a net art pioneer, her BRANDON (1998 - 99) was the first web art commissioned by New York’s Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. From homesteading cyberspace in the 90s to her current retreat to post-netcrash BioNet zone, Cheang has devised social interface and open network to permit public interventions. 3×3×6, a mixed media installation was exhibited at the Venice Biennale 2019 representing Taiwan. She is currently at work on UKI, a viral love bio hack cinema with a CNC/DICRéAM (France) development fund and a Guggenheim Fellowship (2020).
 http://mauvaiscontact.info

Shu Lea Cheang & STWST
MAKE BREAD. EAT PICKLE.
Kitchen Social Act
STWST Maindeck / Sa, 16:00 - 18:00 + So, 16:00 - 18:00


MAKE BREAD. EAT PICKLE. ist ein Kitchen Social Act mit hyper-informiertem Teig und ever-fermentierenden Pickles. Gemeinsam werden Lebensmittel hergestellt und gegessen, dabei wird die Produktion und Verteilung von Lebensmitteln thematisiert.



Nach dem Coronavirus-Lockdown haben wir kein „Normal“ mehr, zu dem wir zurückkehren können, und kein „neues Normal“, in das wir eintreten können. Während der Zeit des Lockdowns wurde das #Quarantäne-Backen zum Trend und weltweit nahmen lokale Kleinbauern die Gelegenheit wahr, Saatgut zu versenden und Lebensmittelwagen zu organisieren.

MAKE BREAD ist ein Akt „kultureller Manipulation“. Es geht darum, Menschen dazu einzuladen, ihre eigenen hausgemachten Sauerteig-Starter mitzubringen, eine große Menge Teig herzustellen und daraus Brot zu backen. EAT PICKLE bezieht frisches Gemüse von lokalen Bauernhöfen um sie zu fermentieren und zu konservieren.

Wir rechnen mit harten Zeiten: Vom Bauernhof bis auf den Tisch müssen wir die globalen Lebensmittelversorgungs- und Verteilungssysteme überprüfen und neu gestalten. Während STWST wollen wir die Dialoge beginnen, während wir unter freiem Himmel an der Donaulände die frisch gebackenen Sauerteigbrote und saisonalen Pickles verkosten.

Long live the Mother Yeast. Pickle the Future.



MAKE BREAD. EAT PICKLE. Kitchen Social Act.
OPEN CALL: Bring your yeast starters for the making of hyper informed dough + bring your cherished pickel jars to share!

Connection zu Hyper Informed Dough.


Shu Lea Cheang (USA) ist Künstlerin, Filmemacherin und Netzwerkerin, deren Arbeit darauf abzielt, Geschlechter, Genres und allgemein Strukturen neu zu überdenken. Als Pionierin der Netzkunst war ihre Arbeit BRANDON (1998 - 99) die erste Webkunst, die vom New Yorker Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Vom homesteading cyberspace in den 90er Jahren bis zu ihrem gegenwärtigen Rückzug in die post-netcrash BioNet-Zone hat Cheang eine soziale Schnittstelle und ein offenes Netzwerk entwickelt, um öffentliche Interventionen zu ermöglichen. Mit 3×3×6, einer Mixed-Media-Installation, war Cheang auf der Biennale Venedig 2019 als Vertreterin Taiwans ausgestellt. Zurzeit arbeitet sie an UKI, einem viralen Liebes-Biohack-Cinema, unterstützt mit einem CNC/DICRéAM (Frankreich) Entwicklungsfonds und einem Guggenheim-Stipendium (2020). http://mauvaiscontact.info